Block quilting method

Standard

method shown within image:
step 1: white (2 knots)
Step 2: green, 4 parts (8 knots)
step 3: orange, 2 parts (4 knots)

As mentioned in an earlier post it takes me about 1.5 hours to do an individual block. The part I dislike the most is the starting and stopping of the thread. I have to tie a knot each time and it’s a little challenging. Plus there are a bunch of tiny little knots on the back of the quilt — 14 knots per block, ugh! I wish I could avoid this somehow, but I can’t seem to think of a better way. Any suggestions you have would be greatly appreciated.

Today is day three and I just completed my 3rd block! I might have the energy to start another block this evening, but I didn’t get much sleep last night so I’m a bit tired. Who knows, perhaps I’ll get a second wind.

Image of blocks completed thus far:

The first three blocks completed from right to left. You're looking at about 5 hours of hand sewing work. Shew.

Leave a Reply

