Reversible Crossover Pinafore Dress

Standard

I decided to take a 24 hour break from quilting to make a little Pinafore Dress for a dear friend of mine who’s expecting her second little girl in October. I followed a pinafore pattern that I found online from a blog called Smashed Peas and Carrots – it’s a great blog and you should definitely check it out if you love to sew, craft, cook, etc. Here’s a link to the tutorial which also includes a link to the pattern if you are interested in making one yourself (and you should, it’s easy and fun!).

The dress tutorial did not include a pattern for the bloomers so I cut up a pair of my little girls, which she out grew long ago, and made a pattern* myself. I don’t know if they are the exact sizing for a 6-12 month old, but hopefully they’ll work (fingers crossed).

Here’s a picture-collage of the dress from fabric to finished:

The polka-dot fabric is a brown and pink corduroy material, the green fabric is a brown, cream and dark lime green apparel grade fabric. Both fabrics were purchased at Hobby Lobby. I also purchased a fabric button kit and made two sets of buttons for this dress. One to match each side, so the friend I’m giving the dress to has the option of sewing on the buttons of her choice depending on which fabric she wants on the outside (seeing that the dress is reversible).

*If you want the bloomers pattern that I made let me know and I’ll see what I can do to get it over to you in a printable format.

Leave a Reply

