Laundry room shelving installed, caulked, primed and painted. Project complete!

Standard

While my parents were here last weekend I had them help me with my laundry room shelving project. Before they arrived I measured the space to determine exactly what materials I’d need to make the shelves. Once all measurements were complied I took my little scratch pad of notes and headed to Lowe’s (I like Lowe’s, they are good people, never a bad experience). After picking out the lumber I had them cut it all for me – awesome! It did take some time, but the guy was being very exact with all his measurements, making sure the saw blade didn’t cut off too much at the ends. It all turned out perfect! I primed all the wood before my parents arrived so that it was done before we installed the shelving.

Saturday morning the project began…but we didn’t finish until mid afternoon that day. With a little toddler running around excited to have her Meme and Papa at her house there were some obvious set backs – I mean how can you resist tea time with a sweet little angel??!! :) Needless to say, we finished the shelves, and Meme painted the inside of the exterior door to match the trim!! Woohoo! Very exciting stuff to me!

A few pictures of the project in progress to its completion:
The finished pictures are taken in the evening, so they’ve got an orange-ish hue. Look at the earlier pictures to get a better idea of the colors.

List of all the materials and tools we used:
1×4’s for the support boards (under the shelves)
1×2’s for the front facing of the shelves (keeps the shelves from bending and gives them a nice look)
23/32 (or 5/8th’s inch) plywood for the shelves
2 1/2″ wood screws
2″ finishing nails
Stud Finder
Tape Measure
Electric Drill (screwdriver bit, and drill bit)
Level
Circular Saw
Hand Saw
Triangle Ruler
Latex Caulk (paintable)
Sand Paper
Finishing Putty
Primer Paint
Colored Paint
Paint Brush
Paint Roller
Paint Tray and Liners
Painters Tape

One response »

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you will be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job, have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

