Homemade Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

Standard

I made homemade peanut butter chocolate chip granola bars this afternoon and wow, so good! Definitely worth making again and again. I don’t think I’ll ever buy the packaged granola bars again, they are tasteless (well, they have a taste and it’s an artificial/chemical taste compared to theses). You can make these ‘organic’ if you use all organic ingredients. I just used what I had on hand. Husband and 2-year old daughter both love this recipe, and I feel really good about giving it to them vs. a store bought granola bar. Yay for new found recipes! Recipe take from this site.

Ingredients:
½ cup peanut butter (I’ve found that when trying to make granola-type bars that a peanut butter that has a little oil added to it works better than a peanut butter that is simply peanuts and salt).
1/3 cup agave syrup (could also use honey)
1 egg
2 tbsp canola oil
1 tsp vanilla
3 ½ cups slow cooking oats
¼ cup brown sugar
½ tsp salt

Optional ingredients:
1/3 cup chocolate chips, raisins, cranberries, peanuts or almonds
Try to limit it to only 2 additional 1/3 cups of ingredients. If more are added the bars will not stick together as well.

Time Estimates:
Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 15 min
Total time: 25 min

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350°
2. Spray a 13×9 pan with cooking spray (or line a pan with parchment paper or a baking mat)
3. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl
4. Press ingredients down flat into prepared pan
5. Cook in oven for 12 -15 minutes until edges begin to brown
6. Let cool so it firms up; if you try to cut while still warm, it will crumble

I did not use a 9×13 pan. I used a 1/2 sheet cake pan, so you can see that my ‘bars’ are very thin. I kind of like it this way, it’s more like granola-bar-brittle. However, next time I will make the granola bars using a 9×13 pan, that way they can be cut into actual bars. I think I will omit the chocolate chips as well, to make them a little healthier.

Leave a Reply

